Please Change.

Dear Apple,

I have been a loyal Apple customer, and I think it might be too late to right this letter to you; nonetheless, I think it will be beneficial to you as a company, the iPhone customers, and me as a potential future customer.

I’ve always loved Apple, but the list of things that I like are growing smaller. I currently use an iPhone 4s, and I just updated to iOS 7. There is currently only one thing that I like, which is that all my apps will be updated automatically. So far, everything else is a disappointment. I cannot imagine getting an iPhone 5s without this feature.

1) Please allow me to choose my default map map application. Apple Maps has wasted hours of my life, and I do not wish to have it waste more of my time. I am willing to bet 90% of your customers will appreciate this change. By the way, this is an amazing blog: http://theamazingios6maps.tumblr.com/

2) Please allow true multitasking. I understand that there are technical difficulties, but here’s a function that I feel will be an invaluable feature to busy users: half-screen video and half-screen texting. It takes time to load a video, a webpage, (2 of the many things that iPhone can do), and texting should take very little processing power.

3) The animation in iOS 7 is unpleasant to me. I am not sure if it is because I am using a iPhone 4s or if it is because of the newly added animation, the fluency and speed that using an iPhone offered is no longer competitive. To me the pro of automatic app update feature outweighs the lack of speed, so I’d rather keep iOS 7, but I’d rather change a phone if I were to keep my iPhone 4s running on iOS 7 at a slower speed.

(Sure, I can get a faster phone such as the iPhone 5s, and that “might” solve my problem, but I’d rather buy another product at this point of being a loyal Apple customer.)

Again, there are features that I liked, but most of them were not beneficial to me. The only reason that I upgraded from Snow Leopard to Lion was due to the iCloud automatic sync ability. Now I am considering my only way out of this lack of configurability and competitive functions is to use another product.

My spur of the moment rant but also my most sincere plea.
Joey Ma

 

Wow, I am using Windows 8, and I cannot find it under the drop-down menu for “Which operating system do you use?”

Leave a Reply

